Nekad i provrum 1890:s-style

Haha vet ni vad som hände idag. Jag har haft en lång dag med många tråkiga ärenden och saker att handla, bland annat ett par nya byxer till jobbet (svarta, får inte verka jeans-iga). Jag bestämde mig för att köpa en kostymbyxa och begav mig till Primark för där finns ju allt. Kikade på tjejavdelningen, hade för det första mycket svårt att hitta avdelningen med just kostymbyxor (du måste först passera underkläderna med ett sexy maid-raffset och playboybunny-dito) och för det andra var byxorna råkassa, tunna som tusan och i usla material. Jag bestämde mig för att gå till killavdelningen! Sagt och gjort, upp för rulltrappan och in bland killkläderna. Där hittade jag direkt ett perfekt par, rejäla, varma, lite dyrare än tjejbyxorna men ändå billiga. Nu ville jag ju naturligtvis prova dem så jag begav mig till närmaste provrum - men fick inte komma in. När jag frågade varför fick jag svaret att det är för att jag är kvinna. Jag invände naturligtvis men gav upp rätt snabbt, ingen idé att bli lack på hon som arbetar där och bara gör som hon blivit tillsagd. Nä, den här frågan kommer antagligen högt uppifrån. Primark, primark, primark.
 
Skrev därför detta mail till deras huvudkontor:
 
"
To whom at Primark it may concern,

My name is Caroline Dickson and I am a regular customer in your stores, thanks to your at many times undefeatable prices.

Today however, in your store in Ealing, I encountered a situation which I found unpleasant, and that is the reason I'm writing this e-mail.

I was looking for a pair of costume trousers for work, and having browsed through the women's department without finding anything satisfying I decided to give the men's section a go. I almost immediately found what I was looking for. So I headed towards the nearest fitting room, but strangely enough I wasn't allowed in. When I asked why, I found out it's because I'm a woman. "What difference does that make?" I asked the woman working there (who by the way were very nice and professional, this is not her fault I assume). The fitting rooms were nearly empty and I was there to try on trousers, not sneak peak. She couldn't reply but had to stand by the rules.

So I am now e-mailing you becuase I demand to know why, in the year of 2013, Primark are not allowing women to try on clothes in the men's fitting rooms (and vice versa). Why did I have to go downstairs to another floor, to find a fitting room where I was allowed in? Is that good customer service? Is that equality?
And while we're at it, why is it that I had to go to the men's section to find a proper pair of custome trousers to begin with? A pair that is not freezing cold, covered in unpractical acessories or made with a lousy material. It's somewhat funny but mostly disturbing how it was easier to locate sexy maid lingerie and a playboy bunny suit than smart, sophisticated womens wear in your store. You might even think that the womens clothes you sell are not designed to wear if you're a powerful and successful person when the mens clothes are... did someone say patriarchy?

Also, out of curiosity, I'd like to know how many percent of Primarks decision-making positions are manned by women.

Finally, my suggestions for you are to skip the whole "ban customers from fitting rooms because of possession of vagina (and the other way around of course)" and have unisex fitting rooms instead, and to design some proper female costumes that are worth more than 5 pounds. Equality is something all companies should strive for and what happened to me today was a step way in the wrong direction.
Thank you in advance for your response. Looking forward to it.

Best regards Caroline"
 
och hoppas på svar snarast!
 
Det var allt för nu. Så skönt att få alla ärenden avklarade. Ikväll blir det pizza och film tror jag, wiiie
 
Hej hej

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0